Do you ever get frustrated?

Started by Fear 2 Stop®, January 25, 2009, 07:03:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fear 2 Stop®

My wife Dana, myself, and our friend Raymond have been making music together using MG2 for almost 8 years now (!) and have shared our music on the web during that time (first on mp3.com and later on Soundclick). During that time, we've gotten some really good reviews, and had a couple of #1 songs on soundclick. That said, I've been getting frustrated as I've begun entering  our songs in competitions recently and have yet to get past the 1st round. I know our music is not commercial in any sense (and we like it that way), and we're more experimental, but sometimes I wonder if we should try to go for a more "pop" route. I've been writing music now for almost 20 years (since I was 11), and music's my life. I want to begin to start selling our music, but these recent failures have caused me to rethink this whole thing.

Do you ever get frustrated to the point where you think "why even bother"?
Fear 2 Stop are: Billy Castillo (me), Dana Castillo (my wife) Raymond Proseus (best friend)http://www.soundclick.com/fear2stop

stonecold

The music industry is a cruel beast. I would say that no matter what other people think, just keep doin the stuff you want to do. The moment you make music just in the hope someone else will like it, or changing your sound to cater for others taste is when youve 'sold out'. Sure, if you can do it well, get some recognition,then £££$$$$$ but will you be truly happy?